Welcome to St Austin’s and The English Martyrs Parish.
St Austin’s has been providing a place of worship for Christians in Wakefield since it opened in 1828. In 1932 a new school was built in the new parish of English Martyrs and initially Mass was celebrated in the school hall. This provided a place of worship for the people of the newly built estate of Lupset.
The Parish of St Austin’s and The English Martyrs in Wakefield came about as a result of the diocesan reorganisation of the two parishes into one. Now the churches combine to provide a vibrant and welcoming community. Two primary schools and a Catholic college are supported by the parish.